Iowa, like every state, has certain time limits, called "statutes of limitations," that govern the period during which you must file a personal injury lawsuit. Depending on the type of personal injury case, you may have as little as two years to file a lawsuit from an accident. Various Iowa statutes of limitation include:
- Personal injury generally - 2 years
- Claims against cities/counties/schools - generally 6 months
- Claims against the State of Iowa - 2 years
- Workers' compensation claims - 2 years from the date of occurrence for which benefits are claimed OR if weekly compensation benefits were paid, within 3 years from the date of the last payment of weekly compensation benefits.
If you miss the statutory deadline for filing a case, your case is barred from court. It is important to consult an attorney as soon as possible to determine which deadlines apply in your case.
Contact McKelvie Law Office today to discuss your personal injury case.